As the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) strike prolongs, some state universities have decided to pull out of the the strike.

Related Post:

The universities, according to The Punch, include:

  • Kwara State University
  • Lagos State University
  • Osun State University
  • Ekiti State University
  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH)
  • Kaduna State University, among others

Meanwhile, some state universities have also just announced resumption amid the ongoing strike.

Ekiti State University

The management of Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti on Wednesday, August 24, directed all newly-admitted students for 2021/2022 academic session to resume on Monday for screening, registration and orientation programme.

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH)

Similarly, the management of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso, Oyo state, recently announced resumption, indicating it has pulled out of the ASUU strike. The institution’s registrar, Dr Kayode Ogunleye, in a circular entitled “Release to Staff and Students: Continuation of the First Semester of the 2021/2022 Academic Session,” announced Thursday, August 18, as the date for resumption.

It was, however, gathered that the ASUU branch in the university refused to resume, Leadership reported.

ASUU vows to punish universities that pulled out of strike

Meanwhile, ASUU has threatened to query universities that have failed to comply with its decision to remain on strike while negotiations with the federal government continue, Daily Trust reported. gathers that ASUU president, Prof Emmanuel Osodeke, said this in a recent interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja. “We will punish those who have pulled out from our ongoing strike the appropriate way. “We will ensure to query them and we will follow it up the appropriate way. We have even queried some of them in accordance with the union,” Osodeke said.

ASUU’s demands include funding for the revitalization of public universities, Earned Academic Allowances, use of the University Transparency Accountability Solution (UTAS) and promotion arrears.