The Kaduna State University (KASU) on Tuesday suspended academic activities of its undergraduate students indefinitely.

KASU Registrar, Mr Samuel Manshop, disclosed this in a statement in Kaduna.

Manshop, who did not give reasons for the suspension, however, said academic activities would continue for postgraduate programmes, college of medicine, pharmaceutical sciences and part-time programmes.

“The management of KASU wishes to notify staff, students and the public that academic activities for undergraduate students have been suspended indefinitely.

“Postgraduate programmes, college of medicine, faculty of pharmaceutical sciences and part-time programmes are to continue with their activities.

“Staff is also expected to report to work as usual, while management will communicate further developments,” he said.

DAILY POST recalls that undergraduate students had protested the hike in school fees from between N24,0000 and N36,000 to between N100,000 and N400,000.

However, it is also thought that the suspension may be connected to the recommendation for dismissal of 18 employees of the institution.

In a memo sighted on social media, the institution had identified 16 academic and two non-academic staff members in the protest by the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), which grounded activities in Kaduna some weeks ago.

The names of the employees, said to have been identified in various protest pictures circulated on the internet, have been forwarded to the Head of Service for appropriate action.

The identified lecturers and non-teaching staff are:

Peter Adamu of the Economics department, Peter Waziri Maitala – Biochemistry, Usman Abbas – Economics, Jihad Abdullahi Ismaila – Computer Science, Hussaini Bala – Accounting, Abubakar Mustapha Jumare – Library, Abubakar Abdullahi – Economics, Kamal Dan’azumi – Chemistry, Alhassan Kabiru Usman – Chemistry, Usman Sadiq Abubakar – Biological Sciences and Daniel Gillian Lami – Library.

Others are: Nina Lami Ochigbo – Registry, Usman Balarabe Kubau – Bursary, Salome Danjuma – Computer Science, Monday Emmanuel Dangano – Geography, Ja’afar Muhammad Sani – Biochemistry, Silas Birat Garba – Economics and Abdulrasheed Sani – Political Science.